Camera - TrystSO…my weekend was meant to be very productive. I was going to start writing on a paper for work about Taiwan – economics, politics and Z…z..z..Z… OH sorry fell asleep there!!! Anyway, so I thought I should enjoy my Saturday evening and start work on SUNDAY…which I will eventually get to once I get this post written up and published, finish my cup of coffee, gone to the gym and have watched Imagine Me & You for the 5th time this week. haha You get the picture. I will get there though!!

Ok back to this post. I had found a recommendation of this online book about a week ago and started it on Saturday night. Yes, I finished it this morning!! haha The book is about Torrence, a successful photographer who is tall, sincere androgynous looking, kind hearted and falls head over heels with Helen, a 29 year old blonde model. Before you start rolling your eyes at the setting, I thought it was kind of fresh and different from other stories. Both characters are very down to earth. Helen is actually a maths teacher in high school (yay!! She has brains!!) and modelling is only a side job that she does in the summer. Despite the whole lesbian meets straight girl formula, I didn’t feel like I’ve read it before. The development between the two seemed believable and real. Although there were bits that I didn’t like, such as Torrence’s history with drug abuse (it happened in the past and stayed in the past), I guess it was kind of fitting. One aspect of this book that I particularly enjoyed was how the author managed to describe the photographs Torrence took of Helen. I honestly felt like it must have been “love found through the lens of a camera”. For a moment, I had a sudden impulse to visit galleries of photography and see if I could find something to hang on my wall. A sensual capture of a woman? Mmm…makes my apartment feel all romantic and tasteful. :D

Below is a section in the first chapter of the book. I enjoyed this book but I must admit that my favourites are still Lynn Galli’s series and Playing the Role of Herself. All time favourites!!

Check it out guys! It’s available here. One final point, the book is part of a series so if you like it, you can move onto the next one. I think each book covers different couples but there are probably appearances here and there of the other characters. Have fun!

“Hi. I’m Torrance. I’m here to photograph Helen.”

“Oh. Yeah, she mentioned that to me. I’m Kelly. She’s still sleeping. Did she know you were coming this early?”

“I’m early for a reason. Her agent knows. I was hoping to catch her asleep. I wanted to get some pictures of her that way for the book.”

“Oh. Well, in that case, her room is the last door on the right.” Kelly said.

“Thanks. Is she a light sleeper?”

“Not at all. She can sleep through anything. She probably won’t even know you’re there.”

Torrance nodded before moving quietly down the hall and cracking open the door as silently as possible. The room was fairly bright with morning light as the blonde slept peacefully. Torrance tiptoed over to the bed. Helen was lying facing the door, one arm and leg on top of her white comforter. Her short blonde hair was strewn over the white pillow case. Torrance’s eyes drifted over her bare shoulder down her arm before taking in her bare leg. Helen’s sleeping attire consisted of only a navy tank top and white cotton bikinis. Torrance smiled at the vision before her. Helen looked so much like an angel at rest. Torrance completed a roll of film of just her sleeping without Helen even stirring. Deciding to wait for her to rise, she left the room as she had found it and went back into the den.