20110621-014003.jpg

Although I have not been able to watch anime and read manga while traveling, I have been able to pick up a book and read. Well not quite a physical book but e-books. This is new to me but I figured since I have an iPad with me, I might as well make the most of it. Before going on holidays I went on Amazon to find some “yuri” books to read. I didn’t want trashy books but actual good reads – if there were any other there. I’ve never tried looking. Interestingly I came across a few promising ones and I narrowed down to two for the trip:

(a) SHE Slipped AND FELL by Shonda (hereafter to be referred to as “SHE”)

and

(b) And Playing the Role of Herself by K. E. Lane

I have finished the first, hence this review and currently onto the 2nd. I am certain I will be finishing the second one very soon.

I finished SHE very quickly. I was a handful of chapters in but in one night I finished about 3/4 of the book. The book is made up of 70 short chapters spanning almost 300 pages. It’s short and the author writes like Jodi Picoult where each chapter is specifically from a character’s point of view. When I first experienced this while reading ‘Sing You Home’, I found it annoying and to be honest I didn’t really like that book. ANYWAY, a brief synopsis (warning: not that original):

Tina is a attractive, athletic, smart, confident and is one of the most popular girls at school. By accident, she saves Kendall from some bullies and from then on they became the best of friends. Kendal is also another pretty one but she’s much softer of a character. What follows is “OMG, Is there some chemistry I feel there? Does she feel the same way? But what will others think? Our family?” The story starts in late high school but very quickly moves to college years.

The writing style was a bit amateurish and the story was unoriginal (the latter wasn’t a problem for me – I’m just saying). Moreover, when it tried to surprise I felt that it was a bit forced and I reacted with an unconvinced “you’re kidding me!” Character development was also minimal – it tried but I felt the characters were still very 2D. I would have enjoyed it more if there was more time spent on what Tina and Kendall felt for each other in the first half of the book but they pretty much jumped into “action” quite quickly. I probably enjoyed the last third the most (hint hint nudge nudge).

Overall, it was an easy read and although some parts of the plot were questionable I did enjoy reading it. As long as your expectations are managed appropriately, I think someone interested in yuri would find this worth reading.

I would rate it a 6 out of 10.

