A Makoto Shinkai production, the English translated title of this anime is 5 centimeters per second, a chain of short stories about their distance.

At what speed should I live life, so that I can meet you again?

This is a selection of three independent animation stories of approximately 25 minutes long. Somehow, each ties back to the central theme of distance.

♦ 桜花抄 ~ Cherry Blossoms

♦ コスモナウト ~ Astronaut

♦ 秒速5センチメートル ~ 5cm Per Second

So far, I have only watched the first story – Cherry Blossoms. This was honestly an amazing piece of work! I was so captivated by the animation that I often forgot to read the subtitles! Seriously a breathtaking experience. For those who like quality animation, you have to check this out. The story was very simple, about two young students who were forced to separate when the girl moved to another town. They wrote to each other, cared about each other and one year later, decided to meet again. So simple and captures a gentle and quiet series of events but somehow becomes compelling thanks to the visuals and whispering music in the background. An outstanding work of art. I cannot further stress the sheer quality of this!

Please check this out! I will update again once I finish the following two stories…

Official Japanese website

Note there are wallpapers at the official website! MUST DOWNLOAD! It’s the last button on the right in the menu bar that runs across the page.

Official English website

Appears to be under construction – not much to check out…but there is a trailer.

Makoto Shinkai Fan Website

Looks like the person did a fair amount of translation work – worth a quick look.

You can also buy the DVD from here! It is definitely worth buying (well I’ve only watched the first story…) Although I’m directing you to the HK version, it has English subs and this is the real thing so no need to worry about crappy subs or video quality! Price is reasonable too!